Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

wmn_av8r

Hello,

I am currently a Commercial Multi-engine, Instrument Rated Pilot with about 350 flight time hours, +50 hrs in Frasca 142 & 242. I also just finished up a jet orientation course in a 737-400 sim whereby I gained about 52 hours in experience. I am looking for a flying job and willing to relocate anywhere. I have looked into the CFI thing, but before I spend the $$$ I need to make sure that I can find a CFI job and it seems that everyone is a bit slow and not hiring CFIs at this point as they don't have anyone leaving. Does anyone have any ideas on companies that may be willing to hire me at my low time? I have a degree in accounting as well and was successful before I gave up that career to fly. I am also willing to perform dispatch duties, etc. in addition to flying.

Its tough right now...most people, that I have seen around the LA area, are requiring 200 dual given, experience, etc. Make sure you do your CFI at a school where they will hire you after you complete it. if you dont, its not easy to find a CFI job in this market. Stick it out though, It'll get better!!

About the only thing your low time qualifies you for is a CFI job. You need 500 hrs for a 135 VFR job (last time I checked). The 52 hrs in the 737 sim is worthless without real world experience in the airplane and there are currently far too many multi thousand hr jet jocks walking the streets right now looking for work.

wmn_av8r said:
I also just finished up a jet orientation course in a 737-400 sim whereby I gained about 52 hours in experience.

I have looked into the CFI thing, but before I spend the $$$ I need to make sure that I can find a CFI job and it seems that everyone is a bit slow and not hiring CFIs at this point as they don't have anyone leaving.