Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

ATRCAPT

Livin' the...dream?
I'm new to the long-haul flying game, and was curious how to go about logging time. We often have 3 crew members on the MD11 with one acting as an reserve pilot. As far as the airlines are concerned, who gets to log what?

If I recall correctly, you log all of the time since all three of you are required crew-members.

In other words, as far as the FAA is concerned, the entire block time goes towards your 30/60/90 day times. (121 supplemental ops)

You need to becareful with any domestic flying and time conflicts, 121 supplemental rules are rather grey and up to many interpretations.

The whole 121 supplemental rules in the 48 contigious, etc.

I haven't sat as an IRO for many years. As the captain, you log the whole trip as PIC even if your in the back sleeping.

I'm currently out of the non-scheds, so the rules may have changed.

FAR 61.51:

(2)An Airline Transport Pilot may log as PIC time all of the flight time while acting as PIC of an operation requiring an ATP....

(f) Logging SIC time. A person may log SIC flight time only for that flight time during which that person:

(1) Is qualified in accordance with the SIC requirements of 61.55 of this part, and occupies a crewmember station in an aircraft that requires more than one pilot...
(2) Holds the appropriate category, class, and IR for the aircraft being flown...

This pretty clearly shows that a Captain can log the total time airborne if he is the only PIC on board, while an F.O. may only log that time which he is in the seat. As a matter of principle I only log the time I am in the seat even though I am the only PIC on board.