Leaving the industry completely

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

A-V-8

I know that this might not be the best place to get advice from people who successfully made a leap from the industry however I know that some of you guys have certainly left the industry at least temporarily for other employment due to furloughs and shutdowns etc….

My resume and cover letter are mostly polished off however for my last 9 years of employment I have only that I was an airline pilot yada yada yada. I sent my stuff to my sister who liked most of it however she mentioned that as a pilot I worked with dispatchers, flight attendants, maintenance, and other flight crew members. Quite a team that it takes to make an airplane fly.

The trouble is that I don’t really know how to translate what I do now into language that would impress a would be Resume Reader at a would be corporation. Additionnally she said that people are generally impressed with airplanes. What would I say about a CRJ?
So can you guys float me some ideas on what to put on the Resume regarding what I do now as a 121 pilot to translate what I do into something that will impress a would be HR person at company X.

Also I anticipate hearing this question or some variation of it. Why are you leaving the airline? You know that this job tops out at XX $ per year right. Without going off on a total rant how do you answer that question?

Thanks in advance to anyone who makes a sincere reply.

Last edited: