Jumpseating Internationally

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Smash312

I work for a United feeder regional airline (under the United Express brand) - I want to get from JFK over the pond to the UK (LHR). Now I know you can list yourself before you flyon expressnet.ual.com. But if I know the loads are very low, then do I HAVE to list myself or can I just turn up to the check in desk and ask to jumpseat across??

I've never done this before so am wondering how to go about doing this. Can someone please shed some light?

If you list yourself via expressnet you will be listing using nonrev. Those cost money (got nailed for $300 once because I didn't know this) so I don't recommend it. You have to list at the gate, but be there nice and early (at least an hour). Be sure to ask for the OAL ticket since otherwise you might accidentally nonrev instead of jumpseat. Have fun in London!

Edit: Mynameisjim is right. Just list using expressnet but when you get to the gate make sure you get the OAL form and specify you are not nonrevving but are jumpseating, that way you don't get charged to nonrev.

Last edited:
The airlines have to provide the TSA with a passenger list 90 minutes prior to departure, so if you aren't listed (nonrev or jumpseat, it doesn't matter) at least 90 minutes prior you won't get on.