IMC for student pilots?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

172driver

Can a CFI-I take a student pilot into IMC to accomplish the required three hrs of instrument flight training? If so, does it have to be a CFI-I or can a CFI do the same?

The only references I can find are 61.89 -- student pilot may not act as PIC in less than 3 SM vis.

and...

61.193 -- flight instructor authorized within the limitations of his certificates and ratings to give training...is a CFI without the II limited to VFR conditions?

IMC for student pilots? I've never done that before, yeah right :) But anyways on a more serious note, I think it would confuse the heck out of a student pilot operating in an IFR environment, aka dealing with ATC. So I don't think it would be beneficial at all! That's my 2 cents

I think it would confuse the heck out of a student pilot operating in an IFR environment, aka dealing with ATC. So I don't think it would be beneficial at all!

It very well may be confusing but it is required. Almost everything is confusing to a student pilot unless briefed properly before the flight and handled well by the CFI. 61.109(a)(3) specifically requires private pilot applicants to have aeronautical experience including radio communications and use of radar services appropriate to instrument flight. Maybe take them to a sector of airspace that is a little more quiet...

However, my question is whether or not it is legal for a CFI or a CFI-I to give private instruction in IMC.

Very Interesting question.

Very interesting question. I have never thought about this one.

Ok. Lets look at CFR 61.89 (a)(6)&(7):