Iceing storys in GA airplanes

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
ice

When I was a cfi a fellow instructor and I took up an arrow to go practice some approaches. We had just leveled of not more than 5 min after take off and the gear went down on its own. We kinda stared each other like a couple of confused dogs for a few seconds. Then the ah ha light went off. The arrow had some little pitot tube looking thing that was connected to the gear system. When airspeed dropped below 120-130mph the gear automatically extended. We turned around and shed the ice after descending about 500 ft. It was a very humbling and eye opening experience. My advice, if its forecasted don't go. You could get no ice or too much.

supsup

I was in a 182 on a cross country once, and even though there weren't many clouds out, I got splattered with ice going through a single cumulus cloud for about 30 seconds. Since that day I've never seen ice accumulate so fast. The rest of the trip was clear so we continued, but it goes to show how quickly a plane can get into a situation where an "out" is absolutely needed. I don't like flying IFR when it's cold out with no ice prevention/shedding ability.

If you want people to take you seriously, you seriously need to learn how to spell. Hucked on foniks werks four yew! Good luck getting anybody to respond due to your immature response.

Are you serious? If you disapprove of a spelling error then dont reid da postss cause i dont rememember axing you opiomon on how speelin on any of mi words.i really dont want to loose ur reskect cause u must be like close to 60 yrs age. u must hang out wif ur cal buddies and ax their veiw about grammor.

Get a freaking grip man!!!! You must be an awsome guy to fly with or be around for that matter!!!!