• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

How many of you are......

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Like FlyingSkip, I left Aviation for about 10yrs. I was just a private airplane owner, flying for fun. Traded in my plane for two kids at the time. 10yrs later I left a job I was comfortable with money wise, but very much unhappy with other wise. I left that job not to get back into aviation at the time, just had all I could take. I was in my mid 40's, wife and two young kids and had about 1500 hrs, I was a weak IFR pilot, but did have my instrument, commercial and multi. Only 7 hrs multi, time it took to get it back in the 80's.

I stumbled onto a VFR parttime or temp flying job in my search for just any job, so I got current and worked it for a few months. For the next few years I was teased with this kind of work. When I wasn't flying, I worked just a level or two above flipping hamburgers. I was lucky in the fact I had some savings and was dipping into that. But that finally dried up and I was left with the fact I had to make more money or live cheaper. But I lucked into the right seat of jet and that is where I am now. I'm living from paycheck to paycheck, but I am flying and loving it.