Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest aviation Ccmmunity on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, promote aviation
  • Share the passion for aviation
  • Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

How do I fly for a living when I can't afford it?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

rumpletumbler

I tried to get back into flying a couple of years ago after never really getting very far in the first place. I went back and earned a CFI but couldn't find a job without the CFII so I went and earned that. Then *blammo* it was divorce time. I had to get a job with a fixed income so I could pay $548 a month to my ex-wife and her new soon to be hubby under the guise of child support in addition to living expenses. Bottom line is without two incomes I couldn't afford to do it anymore. I'm having withdrawals and they only seem to get worse. I could try and get a job teaching on the weekends but then I give up time with my child. Her mother is absentee on her side of the equation I don't want to do that to her. A regular flying job would take me away a lot but not *every* weekend. It also might not be fair to students to not be available during the week.

Can anyone throw some ideas my way? Maybe there's something I haven't considered. I'd just really like to get fly again and would love any suggestions.

There are lots of instructor job out there that pay pretty well. I'm gonna sound like a broken record here, but Oxford Airline Training Center starts are $40k, with no "provided you do this or meet this goal: type of strings attached.

After a few months, you can move up to instrument instructor with a base of $45K. MEIs are $50k.