• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Help me, I'm thinking of quitting

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Congrats on the PPL! That is one heck of an accompolishment that most people aren't capable of for one reason or another.

Regarding career choices, I'm a 30 year old CFI that used to be a desk jockey. I have an engineering degree and used to be in meetings or sitting in front of a computer. Absolutely HATED it and couldn't wait to get out. Lucky for me, I kept plugging away at my ratings and flew whenever I could. I paid cash for everything, and made the switch from "Office Space" clone to aviation in June. I have never worked so hard at a job or been so happy. It's great!

A lot of my friends that I was nuts, but then again they hate their jobs and I love mine.

Stay at your current university. Don't get an aviation related degree. You don't need those school/industry connection nowadays. Go to a mom and pop flight school, instruct there awhile, lead into multiengine job then airlines. There, I just saved you thousands of dollars and lots of wasted time. You'll have your other degree to fall back on if your tired of this industry. Hey, it happens!

Your mom is BS-ing you. She's not going to distance herself from you. She might be upset for a couple of months, but she'll eventually get over it and tell all her friends that her son is an airline pilot. Parents don't work that way. And if you make a life altering career decision based on this kind of empty threat, your setting yourself up to be walked all over for the rest of your life.

My dad's argument was that with the education I'm getting at a top-15 university I can do something a lot better with a more predictable lifestyle.