Help...I need honest opinions please.

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Relic01

I am currently a flight instructor in the northeast. I graduated with a B.S. in May 2003. I am currently 26 with about 1150 TT and 85 multi. I have and will continue to mail my resume to any and every part 135 and 121 operator that is excepting resumes except those that specifically request you don't apply until you meet the mins.

After talking to a number of people at HR depts around the country (Pinnacle, Horizon, American Eagle, ExpressJet, ComAir, ASA, Chatuaqua, Chicago Express, CommutAir), I must get at least somewhere around 1500 TT and 200+ hours multi to be competitive. There are just too many qualified folks out there. I presently flight instruct for a busy flight school but during this time of year the weather is erratic and flying slows down.

I have been offered a full-time job at a WalMart Distribution Center (Sat/Sun/Mon 6AM-630PM) paying $15.00 an hour. I would like to take this job except that it would affect my flying schedule limiting me to Tuesday thru Friday. When flying does pick up, I would be busy and my instructing duties would be limited due to my schedule. The benefit of taking this job would be that in six months I would be debt-free and I would have enough money to head west (Air Desert Pacific) or south (All ATP) to buy a block of 100+ hours multi.

Now, is there something I am not seeing? Would you do the same or not? Please help with your opinion. My thanks and appreciation.

Hey Relic!