• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Help deciding what plane to get if any!

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I am a new student, only 10 hours or so. I am currently renting a tired c172 with 180hp conversion that is only 100 hrs from time to rebuild. I can rent it for 105 an hour wet.

Anyway i really want to get into a 6 person plane for short trips IE less then 300 miles or so. I have been looking at either an older bonanza or slightly newer saratoga around the 250k range.

however for now i want to finish my private ticket and get 150 + hours so im stuck with what to do. my options are as follows

1- keep renting for 150 hours cost will be 16-17k
2- buy a 172 for 40-50k and put the 150 hours on it then sell it.
3- buy a charokee 6 260 or 300. i figure this would be the best option to move up to the saratoga as i would already be up on flying that machine but at a lower cost in fuel for training ect. I think i can find one around the 80-100k mark

If i went with the charokee 6 i could keep it for a few years and although a little slower its payload is similar for what i want long term.

I have probably around 50k or so cash right now and could finance another 50 if needed.

Any help is appreciated. Also it would be great if i could find something to finish my licence with, im not sure the 6 would work for this or not? obviously the 172 would!!

Buy a Cessna 150/152 (Low purchase price, low fuel burn, maint, etc.), fly the paint off of it. Once you get your license and big chunk of time, sell it and upgrade.