Heard that Hawaiian Airlines is going to fly HNL-BWI Nonstop

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Heard a rumor that Hawaiian Airlines is going to fly HNL-BWI Nonstop

Anyone else hear this rumor that they are going to announce this new route soon????
HNL-BWI

Last edited:
I've been hearing that rumor around the airline for at least five years. Our CEO said during a television interview last week that we are looking seriously at an east coast destination. I know BWI is being considered, however with only 10,500 feet of runway, it may not be long enough for nonstops 365 days a year. I think it's more likely we'd start with JFK or IAD. Nothing against BWI - I loved my layovers there when I was flying for AWA. Hopefully we'll end up there eventually though.

HAL

Actually I heard BWI being bantered about when I was at Koapaka Street a couple of weeks ago. Another pilot said that BWI was a hot rumor during his AQP gs last month.

I've been hearing that rumor around the airline for at least five years. Our CEO said during a television interview last week that we are looking seriously at an east coast destination. I know BWI is being considered, however with only 10,500 feet of runway, it may not be long enough for nonstops 365 days a year. I think it's more likely we'd start with JFK or IAD. Nothing against BWI - I loved my layovers there when I was flying for AWA. Hopefully we'll end up there eventually though.

HAL

10,500' isn't enough for even a heavy 330?

I saw one of your 330s in the alley behind me in LA the other night, it looks great in your paint job. How many are online now?

my bad...i thought i had read in the past that you were applying but now that i think of it.... brain dead on my part... so...heard there is suppose to be a class in oct.... any insight?