Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

bell47

shoveling the dream!
I'm getting out of aviation, as an occupation. I'm going back to school for a job in the medical field, i.e. nursing school. I'm guess I'm just tired of employers in aviation thinking they own you. I've been a pilot and A&P for the last ten years and everywhere I've worked was exactly the same old story. Has anyone else on this board just gotten totally fed up with the aviation industry? Don't get me wrong I still like airplanes, but I'm going to make it a hobby again, not an occupation.
list of things I've learned in aviation:
1. Don't sign a training contract, it's a ticket to treat you like crap.
2. Don't take a mechanics word for it, learn how to do aviation maintenance and know the stuff yourself.
3. Icing sucks in a Caravan
4. losing a mag or a cylinder in a loaded ag plane sucks
5. every pilot should at some point own an airplane, it builds "character"
6. pilot's who think they know everything , don't.
7. don't fly with someone who says " I've got something really cool to show you!"
8. When interviewing other pilots for a job, their log books and references don't mean squat, put them in a real airplane and see if they can fly.
9. If you feel compelled to show off, then you're not as good as you think you are.
10. SAFETY is everything, if an employer doesn't share that attitude, run don't walk.
I'm not trying to discourage new pilots, I've just personally had enough and need to vent a little. I'll still lurk around the local airport and this message board in between studing A&P(anatomy and physiology). Good luck and tailwinds to the rest of you.

BenderGonzales said:
Just curious, how is nursing school? What is it like? Are their specialties?