Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest aviation Ccmmunity on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, promote aviation
  • Share the passion for aviation
  • Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Former Marine Helo, current Reg FO to ANG?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

dukeflr

A$$ Kickin' Chicken
I would really apreciate everyone's opinion on my chances of transitioning to an ANG unit. I'm mainly interested in a tanker or airlift unit. No interest in pulling G's on a regular basis. I am a former Marine Helo driver that has been out for about three years now, living in the DFW area. I am currently flying as a regional EMB-145 FO. I have 1500-2000 hours of fixed wing time. With about 1000 as turbine multi part 121. I am pretty sure my military record and flight time would make me competive but there are a couple of hurdles that may not be waverable. I am 34 years old. Probably not a big deal since I was an O-3 with 10 years active duty. My biggest concern is medical in nature. I was medically discharged "Due to a disability recieved in the line of duty". It was an injury that prevented me from running. No squadron runs, no Fitness test. I still am not able to run, but can ride the bike with the best of 'em! This injury ONLY prevents running, nothing else. Now for the questions.

1. Do you feel NO Running is waverable? I know some Air Force people do the bike fitness test. Could I just do this? Would I be deployable?
2. Do former Navy/Marines have to go through UPT all over again. Would I start in the T-37/T-6 training again, or jump to T-1? It might get interesting flying with the low time 1stLt instructors. All part of the fun!!