Flying Job Following Staff Tour

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

fly4unclesam

I am an AF pilot currently serving on the staff and getting ready to put in my "dream sheet" to go back to the cockpit once my staff tour is done. I will be an O-5 and this will be my last assignment prior to retirement. Following retirement, I plan on pursuing an airline career.

I have experience in the C-21 and C-17 and may pursue going back to one of those airframes. However, I am also thinking about a T-1 at UPT or the 89th at Andrews. If anyone has experience is these areas, I would appreciate your ideas. Having served on the staff for 3 years (no flying) and also preparing for a future airline career, I am looking for a place where an O-5 can get a reasonable amount of flying time.

Thanks

Getting a Gulfstream type rating at the 89th won't hurt. They're flying the new 737's also, aren't they?

Don't know about the 89th, but if you're going to T-1's as a Phoenix aviator (if they still have that program) you can fly your butt off. Very Good Networking as well, with intergrated reserve squadrons that have guys that fly for every airline (prior to 9/11) or SWA, FDX, UPS post 9/11.

I found the Flying very rewarding as well.

If you're doing the Command thing, you'll fly less, but looking at your hours, you have plenty.

The 89th is the best job you'll ever have, but also probably the most stressful. If you want to just show up and fly the airplane without worrying about the details too much, go to the T-1 or back to the C-17. The 89th is is probably not the job for you. If you want to work hard, be a part of history and fly the USAFs best equipment though, there is no better place. Check your PMs...

Flying and Networking