• This site moved from forums.flightinfo.com to flightinfo.com. Please update your bookmarks.

FltOps Tier 1

NavinRJohnson

Registered Gorer
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Posts
144
Total Time
Dunno
Does anyone happen to have a list of Tier 1 cities for Flight Options? I searched their website without any luck...

Specifically, I was wondering about SLC, BOI, and SEA... That in itself would answer my question.

BTW, what constitutes Tier 1, 2 or 3?

Thanks in advance, the Navin
 

HSDriver

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Posts
148
Total Time
2500
Tier 1

ATL
BNA
BOS
BWI
CLE
DEN
DFW
EWR
IAH
IND
LAX
MCI
MCO
MIA
PHX
ORD
SFO
STL

What constitutes a tier level? No one knows. BOI, SEA and SLC are all tier 2 but that won't help you now unless you already work there.

HS
 

Grim Reaper

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2002
Posts
139
Total Time
8,000
Domicile list updated 8 June.

SEA, SLC, and LAS are on the tier 1 list as of that update.
 

NavinRJohnson

Registered Gorer
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Posts
144
Total Time
Dunno
Great! Thanks for the info all..

FurloughedAgain:

I'll take a stab at your Tier One question. From what I understand, fltopts management determines what kind of Tier a given city is based on how many airlines serve it, how many flights per day, etc.

You essentially used to be able to live where you wanted to. Now, at least for all new hires, you have to live at a "Tier 1" airport. Current pilots can live at a Tier 1 or 2, but recently eliminated commuting from a Tier 3 airport. Search previous posts and you'll find it really torqued off the pilots.

This is an 'outsider's' answer. If I've misspoke, anyone is free to correct me..

Hasta, Navin
 

Heavy Set

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Posts
2,277
Total Time
15,000
I thought all newhires are now assigned just a few cities like ATL and a few others...
 

XTW

XCA Monkey
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Posts
698
Total Time
11600
From a post back in March.


Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3

Aircraft Experience: T34C, T2, T45, F18, CE550, BE400
Flight Experience: MIL/CIV
Ratings: ATP, CE500, BE400
Current Position: FLOPS
Total Time: 3000


Tier 1:
KATL KBNA KBOS KBWI KCLE KDEN KDFW KEWR KIAH KIND KMCI KMCO KMIA KORD KSTL

Tier 2:

KABE KGSP KROA
KABQ KHPN KROC
KALB KHSV KRSW
KATW KIAD KSAN
KAUS KICT KSAT
KAVL KISP KSAV
KAVP KJAN KSBN
KAZO KJAX KSDF
KBGM KLAS KSEA
KBGR KLAX KSFO
KBHM KLEX KSGF
KBMI KLGA KSHV
KBOI KLIT KSLC
KBTR KLNK KSMF
KBTV KLSE KSNA
KBUF KMDT KSRQ
KCAK KMDW KSYR
KCHA KMEM KTLH
KCHO KMGM KTOL
KCHS KMHT KTPA
KCLT KMKE KTUL
KCMH KMLI KTUS
KCOS KMOB KTVC
KCRP KMSP KTYS
KCRW KMSY KUNV
KCVG KOAK KVPS
KDAL KOKC KXNA
KDAY KOMA KGNV
KDCA KONT KGTF
KDSM KORF KHGR
KDTW KPBI KHLN
KELP KPDX KHXD
KERI KPHL KIDA
KEVV KPHX KILM
KFLL KPIT KJAC
KFNT KPNS KLBB
KFSD KPSP KLFT
KFWA PVD KLYH
KGEG KPWM KMBS
KGPT KRDU KMCN
KGRR KRIC KMFR
KGSO KRNO KMKG

Tier 3:

KABY KMLB
KAGS KMLU
KAHN KMOT
KASE KMTJ
KBDL KMWA
KBFF KMYR
KBIL KOWB
KBLI KOXR
KBRO KPFN
KBUR KPHF
KCGI KPKB
KCID KRAP
KCIU KRDD
KCLL KROW
KCRQ KRST
KCWA KSBY
KDAB KSPI
KDBQ KSUX
KDHN KSWF
KDRO KTUP
KEAU KTWF
KELM TYR
KEUG
KFAR
KFAT
KFCA
KGJT




X
 

FurloughedAgain

Cabin Heating & Air Tech.
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Posts
1,657
Total Time
10000+
So do you have to "live" in your city, or just be there the night before your trip begins?
 

NavinRJohnson

Registered Gorer
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Posts
144
Total Time
Dunno
This is also from a previous post. Should answer some questions that popped up. You can live anywhere, but where you are assigned is a different matter.

...the Tier 3 guys (that don't quit or are fired) will not have to MOVE but will have to claim a current Tier 1 or 2 domicile to commute from. In other words, the company will let you live anywhere but they'll only buy you an airline ticket from a Tier 1 or 2. For many people in Tier 3's this is not a viable option because the closest airport (other than their current domicile) is far, far away. job
 

jetwash

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Posts
877
Total Time
23 yrs
From my understanding after all of the changes, all new hires have to be based in a tier 1 city that they are hired into.

For example they just hired into ATL a group of guys and are now doing a hiring for DAL. IF you are hired in this round you HAVE to use DAL as your base until the company says you can move to another Tier 1 airport. (That is at the company's discretion) Maybe a year or two or three or 7 or 8? Nobody knows.

The problem arises if you are on standby you have to be at your base city. ( Some times you can sit for a few days at your base (standby at home).

This info is current as of now but, in 10 minutes they can change everything.
 

HSDriver

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Posts
148
Total Time
2500
Grim Reaper said:
Domicile list updated 8 June.

SEA, SLC, and LAS are on the tier 1 list as of that update.
No. These are still tier 2 airports.

HS
 

waka

Emasculating the Right
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Posts
1,972
Total Time
4?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grim Reaper
Domicile list updated 8 June.

SEA, SLC, and LAS are on the tier 1 list as of that update.




No. These are still tier 2 airports.

HS
Since SFO and DEN are the closest, they're basically saying that they don't want to hire anyone in the Pacific NW. SEA certainly has more flights and flexibility than IND. Also, IND is a tier 1 and CVG is not? BNA being a tier 1 is also a bit strange too.

Genius MBA's we have (spoken like Yoda being sarcastic)

The management here is like 4 monkeys trying to fvck a football.
 

Sameold

Active member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
39
Total Time
4digit
Are there senior or junior tier 1 cities?? If so what is Senior vs. Junior?
 

beechjetpilot1

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Posts
76
Total Time
5000+
They is no such thing as junior or senior.....you get hired into a specific Tier 1 airport they are hiring for at the moment. For example, the last new hire class were all hired into the ATL domicile...meaning you had to live in or move to ATL as your domicile. Last time I checked they were only hiring into the SFO and DAL domiciles.....you have to check the website to see which they're hiring for at the moment. Keep in mind, they haven't yet let the new hires know if they can transfer from the domiciles they were hired into. Those of us who are grandfathered into our current domiciles can move to another domicile, but the new hires don't have that luxury........
 

beechjetpilot1

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Posts
76
Total Time
5000+
I forgot to add quotaion marks...sorry "grandfathered"...........it is like the Bill Clinton White House in the FLOP's leadership.....whatever definition of "is" or "grandfathered" fits for today is the definition that they go with. We have all heard the term "grandfathered" before, only to be told that we weren't really "grandfathered" now.....so buyer beware and I will stop crying over spilled milk and continue to convince people to SEND IN YOUR CARD!!!!!!!!!!!
 

SheGaveMeClap

Your wife's boyfriend
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Posts
447
Total Time
5000+
With regards to the 16 new Tier 2 airports, two of them only have one airline seruving it. One of them is some little airport in IL with four AA flights per day to STL. I believe MCN has four or five DL flights per day to ATL. I know who lives in MCN that made that work, but which check airman lives in that place in IL? We could use most of the existing Tier 3 airports as Tier 2 airports if this is the qualifying criteria. Guess its who you blow, er, I mean know....
 

cfrey79

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Posts
55
Total Time
5000+
Time/Distance from Tier 1 base

How far are you allowed to live from your Teir 1 domicile as a new hire with Flight Options?
 

jetwash

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Posts
877
Total Time
23 yrs
They would't change anything that was "Grandfathered"

Didn't every new CEO at FO say "nothing is going to change"

Have some faith in our New CEO and maybe he can do for us what he did for US Airways shuttel.
 
Top