Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

buckdanny

Hi,

My student and I are starting a fractional ownership. He's been working on it for over a year and a half now, and things are coming together.

He already has a Hawker 800XP on order, is now considering a Falcon 50 instead. The plane is to be based in the SF bay area, and will fly a lot inside California. Also occasionally to Hawaii, and other destinations in the country.

Both planes can fly long distances. Is there one that is better than the other, or is it just a matter of personal preference? Which one is more comfortable for longer haul flights? Another aspect I was considering is the safety factor of having 3 engines on the Falcon. I am pretty new to this, so every advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Buck

Hi,

My student and I are starting a fractional ownership. He's been working on it for over a year and a half now, and things are coming together.

He already has a Hawker 800XP on order, and is now considering a Falcon 50 instead. The plane is to be based in the SF bay area, and will fly a lot inside California. Also occasionally to Hawaii, and other destinations in the country.

Both planes can fly long distances. Is there one that is better than the other, or is it just a matter of personal preference? Which one is more comfortable for longer haul flights? Another aspect I was considering is the safety factor of having 3 engines on the Falcon. I am pretty new to this, so every advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Buck

If you do HNL any amount, the 50 offers some advantage in that it will not be affected by the proposed ETOPS rules for 135/91 operators. If you do mostly semi local stuff the Hawker operates much cheaper than the 50.