Enlisting with guard/reserve?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

PilotOnTheRise

What do you, who have done it, or are doing it, think of enlisting with the guard/reserve for the Air Force, Navy or Coast Guard. What is it like, and is it something that you recommend?

Thanks.

I enlisted in the Air Guard while in college. It was the only way I got myself through college. The state pays somewhere between 50-100% of your college tuition, plus the VA pays you just to go to school. Plus you make money by attending drill weekends, and in my case I got a full-time job at the base as well, which altogether is how I paid for all my flying and school.

To top it off, when I graduated, I was selected to go to UPT. One and a half years later, I came back from training and flew with the unit for about 6 years.

Yes, I highly recommend it! Plus, most Guard units would like to hire from within if they can, so if you do a good job and get to know as many people (in the right places) as you can, you should have a pretty good shot at a pilot slot.

Big Duke Six said:
I enlisted in the Air Guard while in college. It was the only way I got myself through college. The state pays somewhere between 50-100% of your college tuition, plus the VA pays you just to go to school. Plus you make money by attending drill weekends, and in my case I got a full-time job at the base as well, which altogether is how I paid for all my flying and school.

To top it off, when I graduated, I was selected to go to UPT. One and a half years later, I came back from training and flew with the unit for about 6 years.