Desire to be new Mesaba FO

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

dpneedham

I have already read most of the posts about Mesaba and Pinnacle on this website and a few others. I am considering a mid-life career change, and want to pursue my childhood dream of being an airline pilot. I am a private/instrument pilot with 340 hours. I am very near commercial. I have an "in" at Mesaba, and just need to pass the interview process. I am too old (45) to put up with people's crap, or immature or youthful comments. Please just give it to me strait, without the crap I see on this board and others.

I am open to comments about what to expect, and any and all advice as far as what I need to do to get there, and stay happy once I am there.

Thanks in advance . . .

Oh, one other thing. I live in MSP. Is there any chance of being domiciled there right off the bat?

I ... want to pursue my childhood dream of being an airline pilot. ... I am too old (45) to put up with people's crap...

I say this with all sincerity: If you don't have a thick skin for other people's crap, you're going to have a tough time as a regional airline pilot. You'll be dished crap all day long, from the company, from customers, from TSA, and so forth. Just be ready for it, and let most of it roll off.

That said, regional flying is generally a good job. The flying's fun, and the travel benefits are a great perk when you can use them. The money is the hardest part. If you're not starting out with a heap of debt and you can live within your means, you'll do fine.