contract military pilots overseas

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

xjhawk

I mentioned this in a previous thread a while back. The response I got was not the "jist" of the idea or question. I have seen reports of civilian pilots flying military type missions in A/C such as the Shorts in Afganistan and Iraq. I know its very hard to get a flying job in the army (flying fixed wing) unless you are already a helicopter pilot. I know pilots like myself and others who have thousands of hours of experience at airlines flying turboprops and jets cannot get a posting to a job such as this. I am an officer with the MN Guard and am branched infantry, I am too old to go through pilot training for helicopters (37 years old) and would not think of giving up my job at my airline to take a contract job flying overseas (as was most of the responses from my last posting).

Why is the US military and state department using contract pilots to fly missions into what is obviously a combat zone. Guys like me would gladly take a deployment flying a shorts or similar A/C and the training to type in that type of A/C. Just an idea, seems like a good idea to me. Keeping those positions in house would be better for all involved. Contract flying might be good for some, but I think the professionalism of a commissioned officer (warrentls included) flying would be a better fit.