Charter/certificate/management question

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

johnny taliban

Ive got a Lear 35 owner who is interested in putting his aircraft on Part 135 Certificate and running some charter with the airplane. He basically wants me to fly him about 150 hours a year and run charter on the side. I believe it is a good opportunity for me but I have very little experience with the management side of things. Couple of questions for those in the know.

1. What is the average cost per month to use someone's certificate?
2. What are the insurance requirements?
3. Who would track maintenance and paper work? Would this be included in the monthly charge for the certificate?
4. Is it realistic to have one person (me) manage an aircraft as well as schedule charters on the side?

Any input appreciated,
Johnny

Last edited:
Wow, you are really getting into something you know nothing about? Best thing to do is find a charter company already in existence, put it on their certificate (maybe) and fly it.

Wow, you are really getting into something you know nothing about? Best thing to do is find a charter company already in existence, put it on their certificate (maybe) and fly it.

Its called "FlightINFO.com" for a reason

Here you go:

1. Negotiable.
2. Negotiable.
3. Negotiable.
4. No.

I would start calling charter management companies and start getting ideas that way. You can set it up just about any way you want it. Some charter management companies will not hire incumbent pilots. You also want to make sure all of your maintenance is up to date with no irregularities in the paperwork so that the process of getting it on a cedrtificate doesn't break your owner.