Career dilemma- need opinions

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

bjsanders

Hello, I have been lurking on this forum for quite a while. I enjoy reading all the informative posts about the aviation industry. First off, I want to say that I truly enjoy flying. Here's my dilemma. I thought I would enjoy flying for a living but now I'm not sure. I despise my flight school, the training is fine, but the thought of working there is a real downer. If there were a bright light at the end of the tunnel I could tolerate it. But is there a bright light? According to many of the users here, flying for a living is not all that great. Or more specifically, the thrill of flying wears off once it is a job. This job also appears to be very unstable for a long-term career. I can't predict which airline will fold in 30 years. Also, the prospect of making at least 150K is becoming more elusive. All of you know the downsides...

I'm thinking of going back to school to become a dentist (possibly a doctor). This will be a 6-year commitment because I would have to complete the pre-req.'s. I'm 23, married, already 40k in the hole, but if I go back to state schools I could graduate from dental school with a (I think?) manageable debt of 130K total.

As enigma put it...

That way I could:
sleep in my own bed,
see my girls volleyball games,
see my sons symphony concerts,
take my wife out on my anniversary/valentines/her birthday,
see my kids birthday partys in person instead of on video tape,
drink with who I want instead of the FA's on my line,
and last but not least, SPEND CHRISTMAS AT HOME, not in a second rate hotel in ACY/CLE/CVN/ALS/IGM, etc, etc, etc.