• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Career Advice?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I have an ATP, CFI, II, and MEI along with over 4,000 hours of flight time that I will trade you for your IT certifications and experience. :D

Hi I'm just writing in to get some honest advice. I'm 33, a college graduate working in the IT field today making around $100k/year.

Been flying since 2000, and just recently completed my Commercial Multi Instrument rating.. I have about 750 hours and have been recently seriously thinking about a career change. I am just so sick of the IT field I can't stand it anymore and aviation has always been my dream.

I always tell everyone that flying is a lot better than working for a living. I have been flying for 43 years and I still enjoy it. Somedays more than others. I turned down offers from the airlines that would have required me to be a strike breaker. (Eastern, Continental and United) I have remained in corporate flying and had a bunch of jobs but it has been a great run overall. I also turned down a career as a stockbroker at one point to go fly a Citation 500. Good advise from a lot of the guys here but if you aren't happy with IT then I would do something that would make you happy or at least give it a try.

For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.
Leonardo da Vinci
Good luck to you.

Well said