Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

learflyer

Time to drill Congress!
I'm a sim/ground instructor at a large part 142 school. Looking to see what some of you think. We (instructors) got into a discussion today about landing flaps 10 with a single engine, and landing assured, the option of going flaps full. We all agree that going flaps full is silly due to the configuration changes, etc. I started teaching flaps 20 landings under this condition because, it gives a better visibility to the runway when you break out (nose down). We all looked together at the AFM/POM and our competitors profiles as well. We couldn't find anything that prohibits us from landing flaps 20. Problem is, there is no data to support this kind of landing. All we found in the pom is a small note in the approach check that stated "do not select beyond flaps 10 until landing assured". my opinion is we can land flaps 20 with a SE. What do some of you think? Would we need data to support it?

thanks.

What does the school say about introducing your own technique?

How much experience do any of you have, performing this technique in the airplane?

Lacking data to back up what you teach, what will you, or your students do to fall back on authority, when questioned?

What's confusing is, is that in our profiles it says "land flaps 10 or 20 until landing assured then go to 30 if desired." (single engine)Our argument is that the profiles were approved by the faa last year so we shouldn't worry. But...there is no data backing up the claim that you may land flaps 20. Only 10.

With that in mind, is there justification for making any change at all if concern exists for a configuration change?