ANG Advice Non-Pilot

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Delta3

I'm going to be graduating from college soon and I'm interested in the ANG. I have a PPL, but I doubt I am very competitive for a flight spot at this point and I wouldn't mind just being a part of the team for a while and then applying for a flight spot later on. So I was wondering what the ANG was like for non-flying officers.

Does anybody know what kind kind of job functions officers perform in the ANG besides flying?

What steps do you have to complete, and how long does it take from the time you sign up until you become a 2nd Lt. in the ANG?

IMO

I am a recent graduate of AMS (Academy of Military Science), which is the guards version of OTS. In my graduating class of 113, there were 25 non-prior service folks like yourself. Of that 25 I can't think of anyone who was not going in as a flyer.
Nonflying officer positions with the guard are normally filled from within each unit. Since there are exceptions to every rule and you do happen to be selected for a nonflying position you can expect the process to take between 9mos-2yrs from selection to the completion of AMS.

If flying for the guard is where you eventually want to be then I suggest you find an enlisted position that would interest you the most. Go to your local unit and talk to a recruiter and have them get you intouch with someone who is doing the job in you are interested in. Your chances of getting that pilot slot are greatly increased of you are already a member of that unit.

good luck,

SR

Maybe just ask?...

I am a Guardsman, but not in a traditional unit, so all of you guys in the "real" ANG can correct me as required.