Airtran national groundstop

SiuDude

Internet tough guy
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Posts
969
Total Time
Why
AirTran national groundstop

From the FAA site:

02/02/09 TRS ONLY GROUND STOP
DESTINATION AIRPORT: ALL
FACILITIES INCLUDED: ZAU, ZKC, ZME, ZFW, ZHU, ZMA, ZID, ZJX, ZDC,
ZOB, ZNY, ZBW, ZTL
EXPECT UPDATE: 1600Z
REASON: DISPATCH COMPUTER PROBLEMS
REMARKS: NON FAA DELAY, UPDATES WILL FOLLOW AS NEEDED.
021500-021800


Anyone got the deets?
 
Last edited:

DonVerita

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 24, 2002
Posts
575
Total Time
10000+
Big SOC computer fiasco. Kind of like what happened to Delta a couple of years ago.

Groundstop was lifted around 11am Eastern today.
 
Last edited:

LearLove

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Posts
4,451
Total Time
12000+
happened at US Air (sabre) last week. Aircraft couldn't get numbers. then when the system came back online the boeing and airbus were fine but the system wouldn't compute 190 numbers, so we sat for 2 hours on the ramp waiting for numbers.
 

nonstop

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 1, 2002
Posts
262
Total Time
xx,xxx
happened at US Air (sabre) last week. Aircraft couldn't get numbers. then when the system came back online the boeing and airbus were fine but the system wouldn't compute 190 numbers, so we sat for 2 hours on the ramp waiting for numbers.
Crazy this keeps happening (at all airlines). We have all this redundancy in the cockpit we need more of it on the ground. Can't be good for the bottom line.
 

Ty Webb

Hostage to Fortune
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Posts
6,525
Total Time
11000+
Groundstop was lifted around 11am Eastern today.

Hey, you said "eastern" . . . you owe me a beer.

Back to the subject at hand .. . . I'll bet there was no shortage of d0uchebag Captains, frantically trying to do everyone else's job . . . amd completey oblivious to the fact that they have been out of Contract since Dubya's first term.
 
Last edited:

pipe

fuggedaboutit
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Posts
660
Total Time
8K
happened at US Air (sabre) last week. Aircraft couldn't get numbers. then when the system came back online the boeing and airbus were fine but the system wouldn't compute 190 numbers, so we sat for 2 hours on the ramp waiting for numbers.
RJ numbers - rule of thumb:

Number of seats x .75 = number of useable seats

Trim setting = nose up to takeoff limit (w/no jumpseater)

Fuel load = Not quite enough for 1 hour flight with comfortable alternate.

That should cover most situations.

PIPE

P.S. - I'm sure the 190 is better, but I hate all RJs equally. Discrimination is unacceptable.
 
Last edited:

pipe

fuggedaboutit
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Posts
660
Total Time
8K
Deleted.
 
Last edited:

dooork

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Posts
445
Total Time
13000
happened at US Air (sabre) last week. Aircraft couldn't get numbers. then when the system came back online the boeing and airbus were fine but the system wouldn't compute 190 numbers, so we sat for 2 hours on the ramp waiting for numbers.
You have no way computing your own numbers?
 

Whine Lover

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Posts
1,497
Total Time
12000+
"..no shortage of d0uchebag Captains, frantically trying to do everyone else's job.."

Ty,

I'll buy you a cold one if I ever bump into you somewhere.

So many people can't understand the above simple concept. It's one of the main reasons I don't think I can ever go back to airline flying...

Groundstops just mean it's time to put the DVD player up on the glareshield and break out the snacks.


YKMKR
 
Last edited:

Ty Webb

Hostage to Fortune
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Posts
6,525
Total Time
11000+
Ty,

I'll buy you a cold one if I ever bump into you somewhere.

You can find me and my swingin' brother, Yurgi at the Fox Bar on most nights, where we cruise for chicks with those big American breastages!

You'll know us by our many medallions and our tight slacks!
 
Last edited:

LearLove

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Posts
4,451
Total Time
12000+
You have no way computing your own numbers?
we have takeoff numbers but no way of calculating weight or trim setting. we are not given a bag count like express. we know pax count but do not get a count on where they are seated for CG. and if we did we have no whiz wheel like express.

so without a weight number to put into the FMS or a trim setting we cannot go.
 

LearLove

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Posts
4,451
Total Time
12000+
Ah Yes! Windows 57!
no crap, those Apple II's are powerful you know.

the printers we have in the crew room(s) at mainline (to print out your trip pairing) are the same as the first printer I ever saw in the 3rd grade back in 1982. Our printers are one step above a hand cranked ditto machine. We can't replace them because it would cause complete chaos among our technology handicap baby boomer crews.

US Airs' computers are about on par with the TI99 my sister and I got for christmas in 1983.

anyone remember the program called Logo?

FD50, RT90, FD50, RT90, FD50, RT90, FD50
OR
R360(FD1, RT90)

go turtle go, draw that box.......
 
Last edited:

Citrus531

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Posts
251
Total Time
1500
Hey, you said "eastern" . . . you owe me a beer.

Back to the subject at hand .. . . I'll bet there was no shortage of d0uchebag Captains, frantically trying to do everyone else's job . . . amd completey oblivious to the fact that they have been out of Contract since Dubya's first term.

Feds called me in C-TWR the other day during the mess and asked me to please tell the crews to stop calling MCN flight service to file their own flight plans. Duplicate flight plans were popping up and causing confusion. A lot were calling and giving FL instead of TRS and also giving the wrong equip suffix...and ICAO rules were recently put in according to the tower guy that prohibits them from going in to admend certain things....it was definitely a CF
 
Top