Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Clyde said:
capt. meg'

Thank-you. I can definitely remember those probationary-pay days, and I'm happy to hear that you have a way to supplement it. Hang in there, it won't be too much longer and that decimal point slides over a little bit more to the right.:)

It's all good. I am just glad to be here. :)

its creepy how close to home this post has hit.....
i didn't know i was going to go into aviation when i started collge so i took classes that interested me.....i graduated with a geography degree (meterology, hydrology, climatology).....halfway through my sophmore year my dad (who was a USAF pilot in vietnam and flies 135 today for fun) gave me a call and said he met a few guys from the ANG wing back home that fly commercially as well and have a blast.....he said "imagine being able to get paid to fly and travel the world for next to nothing!"......thanks dad for the grand illusion.......
anyway.....i was all about this idea.....got my private, started working on the instrument....jumped the paper work hurdles for the guard, got the interviews.....FOUR interviews later and no dice with the guard.....(go figure two buddies of mine applied and on their first try they got slots...one had a finance degree, the other had a sociology degree)....its all about who you know and if you hobknob enough.....