We aren't really pilots

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

upncoming

Okay, I've had about enough of all of the fellow pilot bashing ... for now. ;) So in the spirit of lightening things up a bit and giving us something else to bash, get a load of what someone said to me last week:

A friend of a friend of a friend heard that I was a pilot. Soon I was the center of conversation amongst about 5 people, and I felt like I was in the middle of an E F Hutton commercial. They asked various questions and I answered politely. One of them then asked what kind of plane I flew. Knowing that any real detail would be over their heads, I just said "a turboprop, that is one that has propellers." "One of those puddle-jumpers, then right?" someone asked. Taking it in stride, I just nodded and said "yeah, they've been called that a time or two."

AND HERE'S THE PUNCHLINE:

"Oh then you're not a REAL airline pilot are you?"

Immediately I recalled all of what I've been through to get to the "puddle-jumpers", all that I've sacrificed, all that I've spent. After a couple of secondsI came back to reality. For one of the few times in my life, I didn't know what to say. I was hosed: the E F Hutton commercial had broken, the others were suddenly no longer interested and only one person was looking for my answer.

"Well I wear a uniform and a hat." And I got up and left the room, politely.

Sooooo...there you have it. Struggle for years, pay out the a$$ for training/time building, suffer through the insults of crusty types, and you too can NOT be a "real airline pilot."

Uuuggghhh. I'm done for the day.

Sorry to be the voice of unconcerned contentment (and this really should go without saying), but who really cares about what those guys say?