US Army to CAP

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

BIGBROWNDC8

Are there any Civil Air Patrol (CAP) guys out there? Id like to get some info before going in to talk with anyone "Officially"

My history in a nut shell, I was a a enlisted US Marine for 4 years, then a Helicopter Pilot in the Army for 8 years. I have been a line pilot and an instructor here at UPS for about 6 years. Do you think the CAP would be interested in a guy like me?

Is it possible for an Former Army guy like me to earn points (no pay, just points) towards retirement either from the Flight Sqdn or the Composite Sqdn. I really enjoy helping mentor kids that are interested in Aviation and Id like to give back, so the Composite Sqdn sounds like a great way to do that. Getting the retirement points would be icing on the cake...

Thanks all
BBDC8

I have read that there is a way to drill for points with a CAP unit. I think I saw it on AKO and the Army Reserve site 2Xcitizen about a year ago. Sorry my memory is fuzzy because I was in Iraq when this came out.

I know of some non-USAF types that have done this in the past, so go for it. Remember, much of CAP is volunteer... that means things move s-l-o-w-l-y.
Also, in the past, certain CAP liaisons were not allowed to fly with the CAP. Hopefully, they've done away with that rule.

Are there any Civil Air Patrol (CAP) guys out there? Id like to get some info before going in to talk with anyone "Officially"

My history in a nut shell, I was a a enlisted US Marine for 4 years, then a Helicopter Pilot in the Army for 8 years. I have been a line pilot and an instructor here at UPS for about 6 years. Do you think the CAP would be interested in a guy like me?