Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

TAG2

Goldmember
I am looking for a good personal airplane. I am typed in several jets from Citation to G550 when I flew for a living. Looking at operating costs of the jets, I am not sure I want to jump in that deep. I have flown enough piston twins, that I know I don't want to go that route. I have never flown any Commanders, but from looking around the internet, I am starting to think either a 690B with -10's or even the newer 840/900/980/1000 models. It seems some of the bugs and SB's have been worked out with the later models. The performance and fuel economy seem to be unrivaled. MX with the 5400 TBO may also equate to lower costs.

I am looking for any input from pilots that have operated these airplanes. What are your thoughts on them and are they really the mx hogs that they are rumored to be. The 300 kts @ 500 lbs/hr is really great, but if it is in the shop every other week, I will look elsewhere. It also seems parts and support are better today than it was a few years ago. What's the real world deal with these?

Thank you in advance.

I cant help much with the Turbo commander as I've only rode in a couple. I remember they climb like a Otis elevator. Have you checked out MU-2's? I fly a -10 "K" model occasionally and I really like it. Seems to be a lot of bang for the buck.

They break a lot. A Turbo for a personal airplane? Yikes. If you really want one, I believe Aero Air in Portland, OR sells some with updated glass panels.

A few thoughts

If I were looking for a personal A/C as you are, I think I wold gravitate to the MU line of thinking. The Turbo Commander was the choice of the drug lords and the DEA back in the day.