Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

speedwings

Kids are overrated...
Hi all. I am a corporate pilot flying 135 and 91 trips and it's really burning me out. I know that you regional drivers get leaned on very hard too but it's the complete lack of ANY schedule that's getting me and my wife. I think even a reserve schedule would be a welcomed change - at least I would know when I MIGHT fly and when I won't.
Right now, I might have a few day trips a week to 15 days straight (with no nights at home and a total of 20 hours logged from it!) and anything in between. If the phone rings, I'm gone and I have no idea when I'm coming home. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy to have a flying job PIC in a midsized jet, but I'm almost ready to don the orange vest and mix paint next door if I can't move to something different. Corporate jobs are really stagnant in MSP (as they are everywhere else) and I'm not going to move somewhere else in the country for more of the same lifestyle.
I have a few questions for you; bear in mind that I have searched the forum, found nothing and really don't know anything about regional airlines:

What regionals have good commute schedules to/from MSP?

How much of your 17-22/hr pay goes to union dues? What do you get for per diem? What is take-home pay for a new FO nowadays?

How many of you are planning on staying with your regional and making a career out of it? Or don't any of these regionals exist?

If my goals are to gain seniority and a decent schedule quickly, what are the top 3 regionals I should pursue?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

speedwings said: