Teaching my kids to fly

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

traffic pilot

I want my kids to learn how to fly. I have 11 and 12 year old girls so I have a little time to plan ahead. I am an airline pilot with an expired CFI. I am not sure whether I will do the flight instruction.

It's the airplane that I would like some input on. I know that if it flies, floats, or fornicates it is always cheaper to rent but I want to buy an airplane for them to use while training . I've considered a 152 or 172. Am I delusional about saving money on training costs by buying? Any other avenues I am missing?

Thanks

Go for it

I taught my son and grandson to fly. From what I found that renting an airplane to instruct is almost impossible. I owned a VFR C-150, it burned about 5-6 gallons an hour, outside tie down, about $4,000/yr before I started the engine once. This covered insurance, tie down, taxes, and maintenance. So 100 hours a year would be about $70-$75 per hour. Avemco has a hobby CFI policy that allows a CFI to give instruction in their own airplane to family and friends, no more than two students listed by name on the polity at a time. It costs about $1,000 over the regular policy which for a 150 would be about $700/yr. It was great fun and something I am very glad I did.

I now own an IFR C-172 which I keep in a hangar, my base cost on that is about $8,000/yr. I keep a couple students on a regular basis, I enjoy the teaching and it helps defer about 1/2 of the cost of owning an airplane. Incidently, I make my studnets pay for their own insurance, that allows them to rent the airplane for about $20-$30/hr under what most FBO's charge, it is an incentive to make them fly more.

My son went on to fly in the Army and now flies as an airline pilot

Last edited:
Thanks yip