• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Swissair 111 CVR finally made public

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I wonder if they would have made the airport it they didnt worry about dumping fuel!

I thought I saw something where some invevestigators came to a conclusion on this. If they had turned to YHZ right away, not tried to dump, and make the overweight landing there would have been something like 10 minutes (or more) to get everybody off before the plane burned up.

I wasnt trying to second guess them at all. I have no fuel dumping experience and have never been to Halifax to where I know there runway layout/length. I assume the crew didn't understand the severity of the fire that had started or they would have made a straight line to the airport. This was the first time I heard first hand what had happened and it seems they were vectoring them around for fuel issues. Very sad indeed............Valuejet also taught me a very valuable lesson when theres smoke/fire anywhere on the airplane. Sort it out on the ground!

I've had smoke 5 times and never a serious fire. I'm pretty sure I'm not alone. It would be easy to have these kind of experiences cloud our judgment. Without playing armchair quarterback we can honor the Swiss air crew by learning from their fate....

The ValuJet crash taught us the lesson that any smoke in the cockpit = land immediately. That's what's so confounding about the Swissair pilot's decision.

Did you even read the final report ?
They had electrical problems before they even had the fire. Once the fire was identified, it spreaded rapidly. Would you right away associate an electrical problem with a fire ? Now I do, but thanks to their experience.

Read the report before drawing such easy conclusion.