SWA, what are my chances???

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

SWAnnabee

I am a USMC jet instructor(former AV-8B pilot) here in Kingsville, Tx. I am an Embry-Riddle grad (Aeronautical Science B.S.) and a graduate of the Aviation Safety Officer's Course, Naval Post-Graduate School. I will have my 1500 hrs turbine/1000 hrs turbine PIC by late summer as well as around 365hrs civilian time for around 1900 TT. I intend to get my ATP/737 type also by this summer. Currently hold Commercial, MEI ratings. What are my chances of getting on with Southwest in your opinion?? Also, if I put my app in by early fall 03, when could I expect an interview and class begin? I appreciate any feedback.

The tea leaves say....

your chances are GREAT! But you are just now getting to competetive times so keep improving that total turbine PIC until you get where you want to be. Nobody can accuratly predict when the current pool of "hired" floks will be drained nor when interviews will start. They have a lot of qualified applicants on file awaiting interviews so the soonest you can get the type, the sooner you'll get in the que. I wouldn't be shocked if you applied in fall of 03 and didn't interview untill fall of 04 to start class in mid 05. But this is PURE speculation: if the predictions of explosive growth come true next year everything will change over night, as they will if a war with Iraq lasts too long.

Obviously a lot of really important factors are out of your control. Make sure you control the factors you can: keep flying, stay clean and healthy, get the type.

Best o' luck
Semper Fi

Start filling out the app now

Don't wait till you have the TYPE start your app paperwork. Start to work on it now. And keep it updated and ready to send in.