Staying Cargo whole career?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

wuberoo

Can a pilot stay in the cargo side of flying his/her whole career w/o going into the regionals or do most just crossover when their time is high enough? Do the smaller freighters take low time pilots and where would a person find these outfits?

i graduated college in 1991 and flew cargo in LR35s for 3 years and have been flying cargo for FEDEX for the last 15 years...if they are lucky!!!!!!!!

That would be nice. Alot of us are stuck in Part 135 cargo where the work rules and general sketchy nature of the operations mean people are forced to go to the regionals to then make themselves competitive for a 121 cargo job. A regional is actually a step up from many smaller freight outfits.

Saying that, if you can crack 121 freight all the more power to you.

Can a pilot stay in the cargo side of flying his/her whole career w/o going into the regionals or do most just crossover when their time is high enough? Do the smaller freighters take low time pilots and where would a person find these outfits?

Back in college, I spoke to a FDX station Mgr who was a pilot but lost his medical. He spat out a statistic that 1.3 professional pilots will experience a furlough in their career except for freight. So after college and 4 years at a regional I sent out the stuff to UPS, FDX and DHL. Got a postcard back from UPS. Never heard from FDX. But I got a call from Susan Runkle with DHL (one of the nicest people in aviation Mgt I've ever met). 14 years later I got furloughed. Now I'm with a great outfit with great people, but starting all over. Go figure.