Should I buy an aircraft share?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

polysciguy9

Hey guys, I'm new to this message board, so forgive me if this has been asked in the past and I just didn't see it.

As a new private pilot, is it cost effective to purchase a 1/3 - 1/5 share of a small GA aircraft to build the hours necessary for advancement? I've seen ads where people with 150s, 172s and Cherokee 180s are offering a partial share for around $7,000 to $10,000. I know that there are fees associated with this, and know the maintenance demands of an aircraft such as this (one ad said operation costs were around $15 p/hour). I'm not in a huge hury to build hours - I'd like to be a CFI in two to three years (not necessarily looking to join a regional airline - just want to see where my flying takes me). Also, does anyone know what the typical insurance costs are for a new private pilot who has partial ownership of a plane?

Thanks for your help!

Two potential problems:

1. You want to really be sure you're "compatable" with your partners. That is, you have similar ideas about maint. and upkeep. These deals go sour when one partner wants something fixed, and the other two don't want to pony up the cash for their share, or their time.

2. As a new Private Pilot, you may cause their insurance to rise. Depends on the aircraft and policy though. If it's a big jump, they may well expect you to foot the bill for the entire increase. Generally, rates go down if all pilots have around 500 hrs and an Instrument rating. May not matter much on an older C172 with a low hull value. Could be a very big deal on a retract or taildragger. Just depends on the Policy and carrier.