Sending out Resumes online

JP1

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2002
Posts
9
Total Time
3000+
Does anyone know how to send a resume and have it open properly on the other end? It seems as though the settings I save my resume under don't seem to coincide with the user's Wordpad settings on the other end and the layout ends up "jumbled"......probably due to my lack of experience with this method of resume delivery, but does anyone have an idea as to what is going on and how I can fix it?

Thanks!
 

rumpletumbler

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 3, 2002
Posts
1,209
Total Time
1475
WordPad has a bug and always has through the years in every version of windows. Reformat it in Word and you shouldn't have a problem.

RT
 

aero99

just a member, not senior
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
394
Total Time
10PM
Don't use word pad, use and save as a word doc.

Assuming you have Microsoft Word installed on your computer of course.

If you are sending resumes through a companies system, I would strongly recommend using their format. Yes, you might have to re-type for different companies, but if it makes you resume come across in a format easily read by the reader, then it won't end up in a HR trash bin.

If you don't have a computer with Word, it might be time to go buy the software and install if you will be in "resume" mode for a while.

Good luck.
 

aero99

just a member, not senior
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
394
Total Time
10PM
sorry rumble, we must have post at the same time.....
 

banned username 2

Banned
Banned User
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Posts
3,254
Consider buying Adobe Acrobat and convert your Resume to PDF format...

PDF format is great because anyone can open it (the reader is free) and it will look EXACTLY the same on everyones computer AND it will Print EXACTLY the same as it looks!
 

LR25

Its just a vintage VW
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Posts
1,641
Total Time
7000
I have found that "Word" is a pretty good format.

I have never heard of it not making it or being jumbled.

Good luck
 
Top