Retired military?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

fly4unclesam

I am a USAF pilot, currently working in a staff assignment (not by choice). Following this assignment, I will return to fly (although it will probably be more desk work than flying). That assignment will be my last prior to retirement. Just looking for any insight as to how marketable retired military pilots are these days, since the guys coming up in the civilian ranks are getting a lot more time...and its in jets now. I will be 42 years old, and should have about 4000+ hours of military jet time by then.... plus past instructor/evaluator experience. I have about 2,000hrs in light civil aircraft.

Thanks

ret mil

Hi, there are as we speak two 20 year military retirees in a 76/76 class at UPS. I know cause they're in my class. Put your app in and update regularly. You'll get a chance to put your release date/avail date somewhere on the online res. Apply everywhere. Despite your age, there's no substitute for solid experience like yours. Good luck. TH.

USAF retired.

I retired Aug. of 02 after 28 years. I turned 53 while in training at SWA. It is much better on the outside than on the inside. Only wish I left the AF earlier. PM me if you would like some info on the process to getting hired.

It varies. Hiring departments don't publish how much they weight age and military status. And if they did it would change year to year and even month to month.

My opinion-- Retired looks better than ex-military with a possible reserve call up.
The older you are the less likely you are to jump airline to airline. Airlines with an A plan might want to hire the younger guys to get more out you before retirement.

Airlines will often hire a certain age group over another. Depends on the mix they want to enter class this year.