Resume writing tips/ideas for DX jobs?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

OneBadLT123

I saw something like this from the pilot side a while ago and figured we can all help each other out here.

With all the recent openings popping up here and there I figured it would be a good idea to help pass along tips/pointers for structuring a resume.

Since I am somewhat new to the industry(~5 years), and never really needed a sure fire resume, I am wondering how should one be structured for a DX job? I know the purpose is to tell them why they should hire you, but really our jobs are pretty straight forward.

Can anyone with lots of experience with submitting, or actually receiving resumes chime in and pass along some tips for us prospective applicants? Do standard cookie cutter resumes work? Does listing all your duties from each employer just drown the employer with industry jargon? What makes a dispatch resume a great one, and not just a good one? etc...

I think we can all help each other out here and any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

-

Whether preferred or not, I have always listed aircraft types that I've dispatched, especially if they are the same as the company I was applying for.

The general and usual stuff is good, but you need to be able to express what you woill be able to do for them.. not just what you did.. this is your advertisment, sell yourself, tell them what accomplishments you have made for your companies and how you will be ding the ams and more for them..

If there is anything negative try to make is a positive by telling them what ou learned and how you grew as a professional and person.. but keep the detail in the resume short.. you can exaplin these and other tigs at an interview..