Resume advice for a career changer

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

skychaser

First, an apology to those of you who viewed this post on the aviation interview board. The question here is not directly interview related so I'll try my luck here...

I'm in the process of creating my first Aviation resume and not sure what I should do about the Work Experience section as I have no aviation related experience.

I was in an unrelated field for 15 years with 8 employers throughout that time...each new job was a career advancement move.

How much of this does an employer care about? Should I elaborate on the skills and responsibilities in these positions or just list the name of the employer and my title?

It would be nice to state something to the effect of:
1985-1999 Various positions held in the Advertising Industry. No lapse in employment. Excellent references available.

Not sure if that is an acceptable approach.

Advice from other career changers who have had success with their own resume would be great!

Hi,

I'm not an expert, but here is a tidbit from my experience. A good friend of mine came from the psychology field not too long ago. He clearly stated on his resume what he did and for how long...the usual resume info.

During his interview at a regional they made the comment how much they really appreciated his experience in other fields outside of aviation, making him a much more well-rounded individual. He did end up accepting a position at that regional.

I'm sure that others will have some different advice based on their knowledge of different companies, but I hope this gives at least a glimmer of insight!

Best of luck!

B

Okay, I'll move my answer.

For an expert opinion, someone like Cheryl Cage would be your source.