Questions re Joining ANG

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

gubernator

I am interested in joining the ANG but I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer. I'll be 32 years old this month. No prior military service. I have a bachelor's degree and a law degree. I'm also a CP-ASEL and CFII.

I'd like to join the ANG and do something related to aviation. From the limited research I've done, it looks like I'm too old to be a pilot in the ANG. Are there any other jobs available that would get me inside an aircraft? There's an aerial refueling wing in my state that flies KC-135s. I'm assuming that the KC-135 crew has a navigator and maybe some other non-pilot positions. Does anyone have any info on this?

Also, since I've just started researching this, any other info re basic training, whether to go enlisted or as an officer, etc. would be appreciated. Thanks.

"From the limited research I've done, it looks like I'm too old to be a pilot in the ANG."

Yeah, it does, but I'd still go to the unit and ask face-to-face. The odds aren't in your favor but you never know.

IF there are still any navs in the KC-135 it's in an extremely limited capacity. I know because I left the 135 in 1996 due to the (then) oncoming Pacer Crag program that upgraded the cockpit and eliminated the nav position. I very seriously doubt any 135 unit that's retained a nav or two would be sending a candidate to nav school. If you want to be a nav you might check into a 130 unit, though.