• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

uwochris

Flightinfo's sexiest user
[FONT=verdana, arial, helvetica]Hey guys,

I have a few questions on "thrust," and I hope some of you guys/gals can shed some light. (keep in mind I have no experience whatsoever flying any high-performance or turbine machines).

1. I don't understand why the "thrust available" curve when considering jets, is a straight horizontal line (i.e. y-axis= thrust in lbs, x-axis= velocity). To me, it seems that when a jet wants to go faster, the pilots must increase the thrust setting, thus implying higher velocity= higher thrust available. Obviously, I am misunderstanding something here- perhaps I am confused as to what exactly is meant by "thrust available" and how it is measured??

2. I do not understand why a jet engine has a low specific fuel consumption at higher altitudes. I understand that for the most part, prop a/c lose efficiency at higher altitudes due to the reduced air density; however, some of the books I am reading seem to imply that a jet engine is most efficient at higher altitudes- why is this? Why is fuel flow reduced at higher altitudes? Is it not true that in order to maintain a certain % of power, that you must increase your thrust setting as altitude increases, thus causing higher fuel-flow rates? For example, if you're flying a jet (737, A319, etc), does a thrust setting (assume N1= 65% and EPR= 1.7.... I just made up these numbers, as I have no idea what they may be in a real a/c) at 3000ft ASL have a significantly higher fuel flow rate for the exact same setting at a much higher altitude, like FL330? I don't understand the "why" behind all of this.

I appreciate any input. Thanks in advance, and merry Christmas!
[/FONT]