Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Kaman

Hello,
Would any of you have any good suggestions for purchasing health insurance? I instruct for an FBO, but have no benefits. I'd appreciate your inputs.

Thanks,

ex-Navy rotorhead

When I was an instructor I had Kaiser Permanente...it was $90/month full coverage...I think it was called the "Personal Planned Coverage". I was pleased with it.

Blue Shield/Blue Cross also has similar plans...check both websites.

Good hunting....

House

This may or may not be right for you. I was in-between jobs for 3 months this year and without health insurance for my family for that time. I bought a plan from Fortis Health Insurance (out of Milwaukee) that is for people who need temporary insurance. I think the max you can do it is for 12 months. I got a high deductable plan for my family and it cost me $160/ month. It does not cover routine visits. BC/BS had quoted me ~$800/month! Cobra from my previous employer was ~$760/month. Hope this helps someone.

Hello,
Thanks a lot fellas, I really appreciate the advice. Things are rough enough trying to survive on flight instructor pay, and health insurance is a must have until my wife goes back to work as an R.N. We've got a 3 month old, so she is our priority.
I'm very grateful to have a full-time job at an FBO instructing, answering phones, cleaning the restrooms, etc... I know that it's just a beginning, but with all the pilots on the street it's great just to get airborne a few times a week.

Regards,

ex-Navy rotorhead

Kaman,

A couple things to look out for: