Opinions on leaseback proposal

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

iranse

Just wondering if anyone out there can give me an opinion on a leaseback proposal for a King Air 200 based in the NE. The fixed costs will be about $3000/month for the hangar and with current quotes, insurance will run about $34-37,000/year. The charter company will kickback $450/hr to the owner. They anticipate doing 400 revenue generating hours per year on the aircraft. When the owner uses the aircraft for his own flights, operating costs will be about $800 per hour including just about everything. Also, does any know if $150/hr is a good number for maintenance reserve? Purchase price should be between $1-1.5 million. From my research, these numbers seem pretty fair to me but then again, I'm a flight instructor so I'm not the most knowledgeable on this aspect of aviation. Hopefully everything works out and I can upgrade from the right seat of a 172 to a King Air. Thanks a lot in advance. You guys have always been great on info.

First, $150 per hour sounds way too low to me. I don't have KA experience, but that number is closer to the smaller twins I do/have flown, so I can't imagine it's anywhere close to accurate for a KA.

Regards leaseback, my opinion of them: RUN, run fast, run far, run away while there's still a dollar in your pocket!!