Opinions and tips please

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Pintarski

I will be in class at SkyWest within a few weeks. As this is my first time at an airline, I have a few questions regarding some mundane issues. By the way, I am very happy to have these issues.

Pilot supplies - I am a minimalist in this area. I understand that I will be carrying around a load of jepps and an aircraft manual of some sort. What else might I find that is useful, but not cumbersome?

Uniforms - there seems to be quite a few choices out there. Shirt pockets, whacky flaps, pocket protectors, built in whiz wheels?! Any tips on what I might actually find handy and what is not necessary? Also, any ideas on where to find a shoe that looks professional but feels like a sneaker (worn in flight boots)?

How does SkyWest conduct bidding? Online? Is there any commercial software that is handy or recommended?

I am sure that all of these issues are addressed in class. I am just attempting to get a head start on these "details" while I concentrate on more pressing tasks at hand. Thanks in advance for any info!

Hey,
I have been with Skywest for 3+ years, currently in the CRJ.
Take a good calculator, your headset, and a flight bag of some sort.
Uniforms are provided.
Prepare for class by having your life squared away so you don't have any distractions.
enjoy
eric

Hey,
I have been with Skywest for 3+ years, currently in the CRJ.
Take a good calculator, your headset, and a flight bag of some sort.
Uniforms are provided.
Prepare for class by having your life squared away so you don't have any distractions.
enjoy
eric

Congratualtions on selection for class.

Pilot supplies: