????? On Airplane Ownership

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

HueyPilot

I just spent part of Tuesday out at the nearby GA airport, looking for a plane to rent closer to home, when I ran into a guy selling his 1946 Cessna 140. It was a pretty nice little airplane....seemed well taken care of (although I'm not an A&P).

Anyhow, he said he was going to sell it for about 20K, and it got me thinking about owning my own airplane. Personally, I'm a USAF Learjet 35 pilot, so I'm not looking to build time, and I really can't afford an airplane that's a good travelling aircraft (like a Bonanza, etc). What I would like is just a little puddle-jumper to take friends and family up, and just have a fun afternoon on the weekends.

I was thinking about something in the 20K range....Cessna 120/140/150/152, or a Piper Cherokee 140/Tomahawk. But, I don't know squat about owning or buying an airplane, so I wanted to come here and pick the brains of those who have owned airplanes like that at one time or another.

Yes, I've heard the old saying that there are three things best left to renting versus buying (airplanes, boats and women). But I certainly wouldn't be doing this for economy's sake. If that were the case, I wouldn't go burn Avgas for no reason other than for fun in the first place. But on the flip side, I don't want to get myself into a financial nightmare either.

Questions I have:

1. What's the usual loan term/interest rate for an airplane in the 20K price range?

2. I'm aware of the annual inspection...but what other scheduled maintenance items would a C120/140/150 owner look for? And how much do those things cost?

3. Out of those airplanes above...what are your recommendations as the best one to own? Not just performance-wise, but also AD-wise and reliability-wise.