Military fighter to Regional

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

SWAnnabee

I notice that most regionals require a few hundred hours, on average, of multi engine time. I am a military pilot with mostly single engine fighter jet time. Will be leaving with about 2000TT, 1500 Turbine, 1200 Turbine PIC and just enough multi engint to get me the rating. Also an ATP and a B737 type-rating. Will these get me a regional job?
Thanks.

So you're saying that I can get an

interview without meeting the EXACT mins if I have some higher than average qualifications in other areas??

it all depends on who you're interviewing with, what their policies are, and the interviewer's recommendations. hard to give you a concrete answer, such as "Yes, your times are good enough to get an interview," or, "no, go out and get some multi time."
all you can do is send the resumes out, and find out for yourself in a few weeks/months, depending again, on who you are sending your stuff to.
in the past, some airlines have hired people with less than their 'published' minimums.. other airlines are strict.

Sure give it a shot.

I'd recommend looking into the guard. A tanker slot will offer lots of heavy multi and flight time right now plus the possibility of livable pay and then you could use it to supplment your regional pay when you get on with an airline.

Don’t discount the fracs or corporate either, with that type of background if we were hiring I know for a fact that our CP would give you an interview in a heartbeat.

He’s not even military himself, he just believes much the same thing I do that the level of training you guys receive is par none… and hell, anyone who can survive Harrier 1000+ hrs in a Harrier has to be good!