Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Joshrk22

Sierra Hotel
With regards to logbooks, what is required and what is optional? I'm studying the PTS for my checkride and the FAR's aren't very clear.

if your a cfi, you must log every flight on which you sign someones logbook... other than that, you are only legally req to log flts which you need for currency...

Josh,

The regulations are quite clear, particularly with respect to the logging of flight time. If you're looking for regulatory answers in the Practical Test Standards, you're looking in the wrong place.

The PTS is not the regulation. To learn of the regulations, read the regulations.

Which one concerns you?

It's your question that's not clear. You ask what is required. What is required for what?

I am REVIEWING the PTS for my checkride...

I realize the PTS are not the regulations. I'm going through the PTS and the certificate and document portion mentions logbooks. What is required to be in a logbook? That is my question...

It appears that TTP has already answered it though.

Well, TTP is wrong. A CFI must sign the logbook of anyone he gives instruction to, but he does not have to log the flight in his logbook.

Read all about logging flight time in FAR 61.51
(a)(1) says you must log all the time that is required for a certificate or rating or flight review.

(a)(2) says you have to log enough to show recency of experience requirements, which is in 61.57.

Well, TTP is wrong. A CFI must sign the logbook of anyone he gives instruction to, but he does not have to log the flight in his logbook.

Read all about logging flight time in FAR 61.51
(a)(1) says you must log all the time that is required for a certificate or rating or flight review.