Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

CUEBOAT

HomeBaseBKLYN
I have been asked to write a letter of recommendation, and I have never done this before. Can someone please e-mail me [email protected] or PM with a copy of an LOR one for a really good pilot & employee.
thank you

Quinn S. Kurz

Ok everyone, take a look at the "negative" recommendation letter at the monster.com site! The person who wrote it is looking for legal action! :) Geez, with friends like that, who needs enemies??

The information is pretty dead-on in the article they have written. However, depending upon how you know the person, and the nature of the company to which they are applying, will dictate how you address the candidate's name in the letter. It could be Joe or it could be Mr. Doe.

Kathy

LOR form

Try this:

Dear (name of pilot recruiter):

I first became acquainted with Joe Blow when he was my flight student at Acme Aviation University. Joe was an excellent student and earned an "A" in Acme's instrument rating course. Later, Joe was hired at Acme as a flight instructor and after building flight experience at Acme was hired at Unsafe Air Freight, where we reunited. I was a Captain on the Beech 99 at the time and Joe was my first officer for many runs. Joe has since upgraded to Captain on the Beech 99 at Unsafe.

Having flown with Joe Blow first as my flight student and then as my First Officer, I can attest to his superior abilities as a pilot. Joe is a quick learner and works well with people. Above all, Joe Blow is a hard worker and loves aviation. I am confident that Joe Blow will be a fine addition to your company. I recommend him highly for hire as a Flight Officer.

Sincerely,

Cueboat

Monster.com's LOR is a "Monster"

Here's the letter:

Letter of Recommendation for Lisa Johnson

August 27, 1998