King or Sporty's?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

epic!

Im thinking of purchasing the instrument test prep DVD's but dont know which one is worth the $250+ price tag. Any suggestions?

I've got no experience with the Sporty's test prep products; however, I have used several of the King products over the years.

The Kings are pretty hokey -- but they do a darn good job at getting you ready for the written exam. Neither any of my students nor I have scored less than a 92% on any of the written exams after using the King products; my last private pilot student scored 100%.

Good luck.

I bought the Sportys DVDs when I was doing my instrument rating a while back and was really unimpressed.

The quizzes at the end of each segment seemed to have nothing to do with what was actually covered (or the segments were so poor they didn't properly address the test questions, take your pick). My feeling was they were rushed to compete with King and the quality just wasn't there.

I didn't order the full-blown kit, just the DVDs and some supporting booklets so perhaps the things make more sense when integrated with the full Sportys package, but I assumed since they sold them on their own they could stand on their own, which was incorrect.

Ultimately I just bought the Jepp Instrument/Commercial book and found it much more useful.

I've not used the King stuff, but folks I know who have say they're pretty good if you can used to John and Martha. I have a private student now who is using the King stuff for his ground and he's happy with it.

Gleim's DVD test prep seems to have a pretty good reputation as well.

I don't think there's really anything in any of them that you can't get from reading a book, so it's more a matter of how you learn best.